54 Indiana Teachers Receive Classroom STEM Grants

East Side Elementary Spring 2017.jpg

TechPoint Foundation for Youth is pleased to announce the winners of the EnablINg STEM Fall 2017 Grant Cycle, which was open to all Indiana kindergarten through 8th grade classroom teachers in schools with a free and reduced price lunch percentage of 55% or greater. This competitive grant program provides grant dollars to teachers to support the purchase of supplies and equipment that enhance science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) curriculum in the classroom. Applications were evaluated based on their ability to implement hands-on, project-based STEM programming, while also focusing on the use of resources that could extend beyond the school year, had clearly defined outcomes, and had an emphasis on student STEM engagement.

The following 54 teacher projects from 28 Indiana communities were selected from among 119 applications to receive up to $500 in grant dollars totaling nearly $25,000 in funding from this grant cycle:

  • Emmalena Rios, St. John Bosco
  • Jamie Paino, Claypool Elementary School
  • Tricia Sederholm, Peru Junior High School
  • Matthew Geiger, 10th Street Elementary School
  • Jon Metz, Harshman Magnet Middle School
  • Terry Ward, Frankton Elementary School
  • Michelle Smelser, Mary Castle Elementary
  • Angela Weeks, Deer Meadow Primary
  • Rebeccah Dyer, Henry W. Longfellow Medical STEM Middle School
  • Sarah Dunham, Elwood Intermediate School
  • Miranda Figert, Acron Elementary School
  • Chi Chi Bardell, Montessori Garden Academy
  • Jacqueline Scott, Hayden Elementary School
  • Sarah Archer, Chapelwood Elementary School
  • Rachel Nesbit, Blue Academy
  • Tracy Nicodemus, Hay Primary Center
  • Amy Hartung, Pleasant Run Elementary School
  • Leigh Barnes, John Simatovich Elementary School
  • Marjorie Alberson, Willard Elementary School
  • Amanda Moore, Sunny Heights Elementary School
  • Emily Brooks, Pleasant Hill Elementary School
  • Jordan Weldon, Sunnyside Elementary School
  • Jeremy Hughes, Hayden Elementary School
  • Cynthia Fish, Liberty Elementary School
  • Roza Selvey, Southside Middle School
  • Jane Jones, Thomas Jefferson Elementary School
  • Kara Sedam, Canaan Community Academy
  • Carol Blake, Laurel School
  • Shannon Hudson, Crawfordsville Middle School
  • Jillian Gudenschwager, Flint Lake Elementary School
  • Apryl Kidd, Hatfield Elementary School
  • Jennifer McGillem, North Wayne Elementary School
  • Allison Case, Bridgeport
  • Tonya Wass, Austin Elementary School
  • Kendra Guerrero, Pleasant Run Elementary School
  • Shannon Howell, Alexandria Monroe Intermediate School
  • Amy Mihalich, Cold Spring School
  • Jennifer Bartram, Webb Elementary School
  • Bryan Beeler, Milan Middle School
  • XaViera Ellinger, Montessori Garden Academy
  • April Wolf, Dayton Elementary School
  • Trisha Montgomery, Cold Spring School
  • Angela Hale, Meredith Nicholson Elementary School
  • Jackie Secrest, Northeast North Academy
  • Dave Shafer, Skiles Test School of STEM
  • Sherri Barnes, Guion Creek Elementary School
  • Katherine Brown, Guion Creek Elementary School
  • Beth Walenga, Lincoln Elementary School
  • David Nelson, Indian Creek Elementary School
  • Matthew Perkins, H. L. Harshman Magnet Middle School
  • Jamie Boxler, Monon Trail Elementary School
  • Sue DeLong, Clinton Prairie Elementary School
  • Ruthann Copeland, Cold Spring School
  • Shannon Shrader, Taylor Elementary School

Chosen projects ranged in topic from shark dissections and Rube Goldberg projects, to gardening and makerspaces. Teachers could request between $75 and $500 per project, with the majority of grantees receiving between $400 and $500.

Thanks to a $10,000 matching donation from Angie’s List Foundation and the generosity of the attendees at this year’s TechPoint Mira Awards Gala for funding this round of classroom projects!